Auditions

CHORUS AUDITIONS FOR THE 2015-2016 SEASON WILL BE HELD ON THE FOLLOWING DATES:

  • Monday, August 24, 2015, 7:00 – 10:00 PM
  • Tuesday, August 25, 2015, 7:00 – 10:00 PM
  • Thursday, August 27, 2015, 7:00 – 10:00 PM
  • Friday, August 28, 2015, 7:00 – 10:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 29, 2015, 12:00 – 5:00 PM

Singers are needed for all productions.  Only male voices are needed for Of Mice and Men and Barber of Seville.

An honorarium is paid.  Please review rehearsal and performance schedules HERE.  If selected you must be available for these dates.

Aida rehearsals begin September 17 (Tuesday and Thursday evenings and Saturday morning and afternoon.  Tech rehearsals are evening) with performances on November 7, 12, 15, 2015.

Of Mice and Men rehearsals begin on November 17 (Tuesday and Thursday evenings and Saturday morning and afternoon.  Tech rehearsals are evening) with performances on January 23, 28, 31, 2016

Barber of Seville rehearsals begin on March 8 (Tuesday and Thursday evenings and Saturday morning and afternoon.  Tech rehearsals are evening) with performances on April 23, 28, May 1, 2016

PLEASE NOTE:
Please prepare two opera arias in two different languages – one must be in Italian.
NO ART SONGS, but an operetta selection is permitted.
There may be a sight reading component at the audition.
Auditions will be held in 5 minute intervals.
A “no show” at the audition without prior notification or shortly after in case of emergency may affect future consideration for a chorus spot.

Visit www.aocoro.org for more information or contact Rebecca Graham after July 15th to schedule an audition time at rgraham@austinopera.org.

 

AUSTIN OPERA IS LOOKING TO HIRE 10 MUSCULAR, WELL-BUILT MEN AS SUPERNUMERARIES (AKA EXTRAS) IN AIDA.

Candidates must be comfortable wearing a short skirt, with chest and legs bare. A $100 honorarium will be paid.

REHEARSAL SCHEDULE*:
Friday, October 16 – 7:00 PM – 10:00 PM
Saturday, October 17 – 10:00 AM- 1:00 PM, 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Tuesday, October 20 – 7:00 PM – 10:00 PM
Thursday, October 22 – 7:00 PM – 10:00 PM
Saturday, October 24 – 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM, 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Tuesday, October 25 – 7:00 PM – 10:00 PM
Thursday, October 29 – 7:00 PM – 11:00 PM
Sunday, November 1 – 7:00 PM – 11:00 PM
Monday, November 2 – 7:00 PM – 11:00 PM
Tuesday, November 3 – 7:00 PM – 11:00 PM
Wednesday, November 4 – 7:00 PM – 10:30 PM
Thursday, November 5 – 7:00 PM – 10:30 PM

*Schedule is subject to change

Location: Austin Opera – 3009 Industrial Terrace, Suite 100, Austin, TX 78758. Parking is provided.

PERFORMANCES:
Saturday, November 7 – 7:30 PM
Thursday, November 12 – 7:30 PM
Sunday, November 15 – 3:00 PM

Location: The Long Center – 701 W. Riverside Dr., Austin, TX 78704. Parking is provided

To be considered or for additional information, contact Rebecca Graham at rgraham@austinopera.org. NO PHONE CALLS, PLEASE.

Please contact Rebecca Graham for more information.

Contact Beverly Frittelli for more information.

Please Note: Austin Opera performs 3 productions per season at the Long Center in Austin, Texas. The Austin Opera Orchestra is not a full-time orchestra and typically schedules 24-26 services per year. The scheduling of services for each production is generally spread over a 2 to 3 week period. Austin Opera does not provide any travel or housing. The orchestra operates under a master contract negotiated between management and the Local AFM 433.

Menu

Austin Opera Patron Services
512-610-7684; Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm

Long Center Box Office Hours
512-474-5664
Monday-Friday:10 am – 6 pm
Saturday: 10 am – 4 pm
Sunday: open during scheduled performances