Chorus Master – Julian Reed

Julian Reed has enjoyed a fulfilling career in a variety of roles in many opera companies over the past thirty years. Mr. Reed has a great body of experience as a Pianist, Vocal Coach, Chorus Master, and Conductor.

Mr. Reed has held resident positions at the Dallas Opera, Lyric Opera of Dallas, Niedersaechsishe Staatsoper Hannover, Austin Opera, and for five seasons, was Chorus Master, Principal Coach/Pianist, and Music Director of the Marion Roose Pullin Resident Artist Program at the Arizona Opera. He is in his 7th season as a faculty member of the Land of Enchantment Opera, a training program for aspiring singers.
Mr. Reed has served as a guest artist in companies such as the Seattle Opera, the Washington National Opera at the Kennedy Center, Portland Opera, Des Moines Metro Opera, Fort Worth Opera, Opera Memphis, and others.

As a conductor, Julian Reed has conducted performances of Il Barbiere di Siviglia, La Bohème, Carmen, La Cenerentola, La Grande-Duchesse de Gérolstein, The Merry Widow, Madame Butterfly, The Mikado, The Pirates of Penzance, Ruddigore, Rigoletto, La Traviata, and The Magic Flute.

Chorus selections for the 2016-2017 season are as follows:

Carol Brown
Elizabeth Cortes
Isabel Gomez
Kathryn Grumley
Natalie Howard
Angela Irving
June Julian
Mitra Karakhshandeh
Elise Leung
Jenny Ohrstrom
Andrea Ramos
Amy Selby
Jamie Taylor
Jasmine Warner
Anna Welch
Erika Wuerzner
Melody Chang
Patricia Combs
Julia di Fiore
Stephanie Doche
Kristin Gengler
Rosa Harris
Kristine Olsen
Jennifer Quintero-Pitts
Keely Rhodes
Julie Silva
Sarah Steele
Jasmine Williams
Veronica Williams
Tom Ainsworth
Evan Brown
Daniel Castillo
Yongtae Chon
Jerry Cordova
Carey Dietert
Douglas Dietert
Sam Dubin
Andy Fleming
Glenn Gelvosa
Paul Halstead
Holton Johnson
Michael Patterson
Sahel Salam
Johnathan Salinas
Thomas Soto
Avery Yebernetsky

Brenham Adams
Andrew Breuninger
David Fontenot
Sergio Gaona
Jamarious Hinderman
Jake Jacobsen
Robert LeBas
Steven Long
Ev Lunning
Thomas Middleton
Jeff Phillips
Ben Pratt
Ergin Oda
Max Randa
Andrew Ward
Adolph WetegrovE

Richard Buckley, Conductor and Artistic Director
Read Maestro Buckley’s bio on the Board & Staff page here.

Violin I
Joseph D. Smith, Concertmaster
Eugene Gratovich, Associate Concertmaster
Vincent Frittelli, Concertmaster Emeritus*
Hye Jin Chang
Bruce Colson
Ashley Cooper
Molly Emerman
Douglas Kwon
Christabel Lin

Violin II
Esther Sanders, Principal
Elizabeth Douthit, Acting Assistant Principal
Risa Ando
Georgeann Dubell-Shockley*
Steve Merson (2016-17)
Leigh Mahoney
Sha Zhu

Ames Asbell, Principal
Daniel Gee, Assistant Principal
Sara Driver
Mary Powers*
Tim Washecka

Douglas Harvey, Principal
Muriel B. Sanders, Assistant Principal*
Colin Ferguson
Sara Nelson
Shawn Sanders*

David Dawson, Principal
Christopher R. Flores, Acting Assistant Principal*

Adah Toland Jones, Principal*
Beverly Frittelli, Assistant Principal*

Beverly Frittelli*

Ian Bruce Davidson, Principal
Julianne Skones, Assistant Principal
Jennifer Bernard (2016-17)

English Horn
Julianne Skones

Vanguel Tangarov, Principal
Valerie Bugh, Assistant Principal

William D. Lewis, Principal*
Daris Hale, Assistant Principal

Thomas Hale, Principal*
Jill Smith Rodriguez, Assistant Principal
Margaret Ayer
Roger Simmons

Robert Cannon, Principal*
Kyle Koronka, Acting Assistant Principal (2016-17)

Brenda Sansig Salas, Principal
Owen Homayoun, Assistant Principal
Philip Arno*

Sumner Erickson, Acting Principal (2016-17)

Hsueh-Yung Shen, Principal*

Genaro Gonzales, Principal
Tony Edwards, Assistant Principal

Cheryl Feder, Principal

Orchestra Manager
Beverly Frittelli
Orchestra Librarian
William Lewis
Orchestra Assistant
Adam “Flash” Graves

*Denotes Charter Member since 1987


Austin Opera Patron Services
512-610-7684; Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm

Long Center Box Office Hours
Monday-Friday:10 am – 6 pm
Saturday: 10 am – 4 pm
Sunday: open during scheduled performances